Why Healing Hurts

By JoCelyn Medina

The past few months have been crazy, challenging, hard, joyful, and fun all at the same time. A lot of life changes happened in a short amount of time, and the transition process has been more difficult than I thought it would be. Going through change is never easy, but there is always good and beauty on the other side if we trust the Lord through it.

In the past few months, I started a new job, closed on my first home, moved in with two of my best friends, broke up with my boyfriend, and watched my grandpa pass away.

Looking back, I can see how the Lord has been carrying me through each day, because everything that’s happened is way too much for me to handle on my own. Some days are harder than others – some days my heart feels heavier, but other days are much lighter and more fun.

We are constantly going through different seasons in our lives, and some are much harder than others. Sometimes we will just want to give up and do anything we can to avoid the pain, but friend, what good will come of that? There are so many things in this world that can offer us temporary relief, but I know from experience, that all of them will just leave us even more empty.

When we allow ourselves to feel pain and walk through difficult things, we are allowing ourselves to experience true healing because we are allowing the Father to speak into those hurt places in our hearts. There is no way to truly and completely heal from any type of wound without feeling pain first. Even though it’s harder, I promise it is so, so worth it!

If there is one thing I learned from allowing myself to walk through extremely difficult healing, it’s this:

The depth of pain that we allow ourselves to feel is directly connected to the depth of joy and freedom we experience. When we try to numb or avoid pain, we are depriving ourselves of the JOY and FREEDOM the Lord desires to give us.

The older I get, the more I realize how much the refining process hurts, but I also realize that God is refining me to be more beautiful than gold. I realize that sometimes the Lord calls us to do things we don’t want to do – and even though we can’t always understand why (and we may never fully understand) – all we can do is trust that it is ultimately for our good.

Romans 8:28 says: “And we know that God works all things together for the good of those who love him and who have been called according to his purpose.”

Do you believe this? It’s easy to doubt this promise when things get hard, but how can we ever think that such a faithful and loving God would ever fail us? He never has and he never will. He is always faithful.

He is painting such a beautiful picture that we can’t fully see. We may see little glimpses here and there, but there is so much more to it than we realize. Our lives are such a small piece of the extravagant masterpiece that he is working together.

Sweet friend, if you are going through something difficult in your life, I hope you can keep this perspective, be encouraged by the truth, and trust the Lord through it! He’s got you!

“For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.” 2 Corinthians 4:17

Leave a Reply

